

# nsw.cbca.org.au

PO Box 765 Rozelle NSW 2039 | Email: cbcansw@bigpond.com | Phone: 0455 605 577 | ABN:66 581 126 991

# Children's Book Council of Australia NSW Branch Inc Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting

Date: Saturday April 13, 2019 Time: 3.00pm

Venue: Penguin Random House

Level 3, 100 Pacific Highway, North Sydney NSW

Chair: Gail Erskine, President

Minutes: Laurel Reynolds

Attendees: Gail Erskine; Liz Bowring; Denise Cramsie; Laurel Reynolds; Sue Mirow; Alison Manno; Jackie Hawkes; Toni Field; Paula Zaki; Carolyn Eldridge-Alfonzetti; Ernie Tucker; Bernice Barker; Jodie Carlson; Wendy Fitzgerald; Michelle Feely; Victoria Mackinlay; Helen Marsh; Cathy Drury; Kimberly Conicella; Amanda Lieber; Julie Brennan; SusanHancy; Karen West; Monica Coulson; Margot Lindgren; Sheryl Cootes; KatieGerber; Josephine Laretive; Ros Thatcher; Terry Fahy; Julie Chisholm; Neill Hills-Johnes; DebraTidball; Fran Carson; Rebecca Toltz; Rowena Penniment; Judith Littlewood; Jessica Raeside; MichelleChapman; Jules Van Mil; BarbaraSwartz; Jackie Young; Larraine Hall; Sarah Foster; Gina Krohn; Kathryn Harris; Sue Bates; Margaret Hamilton; Katie Gerber; Gemma Patience; Sharlene Evans; Aura Parker; Matthew Shalvey; Katrina McKelvey; Catherine Greer; Amelia McInerney; Anne Donnelly; Peter Macinnis; Emma Quay; Karen West; Nette Hilton; Susan Hancy; Matt Etheridge; Elizabeth Cummings; Shelly Unwin; Sadami Konchi; Kate Forsyth; Paul Russell; Lesley Gibbes; Carolyn Alfonzetti-Eldridge; Jacqueline Harvey; Frances Watts; Antonia Presenti; Oliver Phommavanh; Libby Hathorn;

**Apologies:** Lyndell Coles; Wendy Rapee; Toni Cary; Nat Amoore; Sue Whiting; Rachel Spratt; Jill Bruce; Catherine Harris; Dot Tonkin; Sylvia Ransom, Sophie Masson.

President Gail Erskine welcomed everyone and thanked Penguin Random House for allowing us to host this High Tea with Our Stars and AGM in their very lovely space. She acknowledged the work of our Patron Ms Megan Mitchell-the National Children's Commissioner. Megan champions the rights and interests of children, and the laws, policies and programs that impact on them.

She welcomed our CBCA NSW Board Director-Ms Megan Lavender and our CBCA NSW Branch Member Star Creators.

An acknowledgement of country was delivered: We acknowledge the Cammeraygal people of the Eora nation on whose Country we are meeting today and pay our respects to their elders past and present. We also acknowledge the culture of storytelling of the Cammeraygal people and honour this tradition through the work of CBCA NSW Branch.

The Minutes of AGM 2018 (see attached CBCA NSW Branch - AGM 2018 minutes (003)) were presented.

Moved: Denise Cramsie seconded: Terry Fahey Passed

Gail Erskine spoke to the President's Report

(See attached CBCA NSW Branch 2019 AGM - Annual Report 2018 FINAL)

Moved: Laurel Reynolds seconded: Toni Field Passed

Alison Manno presented the audited financial statement and balance sheet for the financial year ended 30<sup>th</sup> December, 2018 and presented the Treasurer's report: 2018

(see attached Children's Book Council of Australia NSW Branch Inc - 2018 Financial Statement Signed and CBCA NSW 2019 AGM - Treasurers Report for 2018)

Moved: Alison Manno seconded: Paula Zaki Passed

Megan Lavender presented the National CBCA Board Director from NSW Report (see attached NSW Board Director report)

Moved: Denise Cramsie seconded: Toni Field

The following motion was presented.

Motion: That James & Johns be appointed as auditor for the financial year ending 2019

Moved: Toni Field seconded: Laurel Reynolds Passed

President Gail Erskine thanked the outgoing Executive and Committee who worked tirelessly in the past year to promote Children's Literature and Australian Creators.

All positions were declared vacant. Ernie Tucker assumed the chair and conducted the election of officers. and the following elected:

#### 2020 Office bearers:

President: Liz Bowring	nominated: Terry Fahey	seconded: Jackie Hawkes
Vice president: Sarah Foster	nominated: Toni Field	seconded: Gail Erskine
Past president: Gail Erskine	nominated: Terry Fahey	seconded: Alison Manno
Treasurer: Paula Zaki	nominated: Jackie Hawkes	seconded: Alison Manno
Secretary: Sue Bates	nominated: Gail Erskine	seconded: D. Cramsie
Public Officer: Toni Field	nominated: Alison Manno	seconded: Liz Bowring

## Committee members:

Terry Fahy	nominated: Jackie Hawkes	seconded: Liz Bowring
Judith Radin	nominated: Jackie Hawkes	seconded: Gail Erskine
Laurel Reynolds	nominated: Toni Field	seconded: D. Cramsie
Lucie Towers	nominated: Gail Erskine	seconded: D. Cramsie
Jackie Hawkes	nominated: Alison Manno	seconded: Liz Bowring
Denise Cramsie	nominated: Gail Erskine	seconded: Alison Manno
Cathy Drury	nominated: Gail Erskine	seconded: D. Cramsie

Liz Bowering assumed the Chair. Thanks, were extended to Gail Erskine and Alison Manno who were presented with flowers in appreciation of their efforts.

The motion that Toni Field be authorized as signatory for Annual Statement to Fair Trading NSW was presented.

Moved: Laurel Reynolds Seconded: Jackie Hawkes Passed

### **General Business:**

- 1. Date of 2020 AGM Sat April 18, 2020 (school holidays)
- 2. Early Childhood Membership project Gail Erskine outlined the following:

**Aim**: to support Early childhood educators in raising awareness of current quality titles suitable for this age group and bring the joy of reading to our youngest citizens.

**Rationale:** Research has shown that literature is at the heart of literacy and there is a fundamental need to read aloud to children to set the scene for their literacy development.

How can membership of the CBCA NSW Branch help?

• Increase awareness of which books to choose with a quarterly promotion (The Early Childhood Book Pack) of upcoming Early Childhood books

- Teaching and learning activities for titles featured in The Early Childhood Book Pack each quarter, and the chance to win the books featured in The Early Childhood Book Pack
- The ability to promote these titles to parents, grandparents or caregivers.
- The opportunity to attend a professional learning seminar, highlighting the books judged as "Notable" in the CBCA Book of the Year Awards.

Members were asked to take a pack and personally approach a local early childcare/ pre-school centre and promote the value of membership.

The Meeting closed at 3.30pm. This was followed by afternoon Tea and 3-minute talks by the following CBCA NSW Branch Member authors and illustrators.

Libby Hathorn; Aura Parker; Matthew Shalvey; Katrina McKelvey; Catherine Greer; Amelia McInerney; Anne Donnelly; Peter Macinnis; Emma Quay; Karen West; Nette Hilton; Susan Hancy; Matt Etheridge; Elizabeth Cummings; Shelly Unwin; Sadami Konchi; Kate Forsyth; Paul Russell; Lesley Gibbes; Carolyn Alfonzetti-Eldridge; Jacqueline Harvey; Frances Watts; Antonia Presenti; Oliver Phommavanh;